Previous Previous

The Scratch Orchestra's 'Nature Study Notes'


Nature Study Notes is a collection of 152 written instructions or 'scores' that was published as a booklet by Cornelius Cardew at the beginning of the Scratch Orchestra in 1969. The scores are called 'rites' and were used in many of the early Scratch Orchestra concerts.

Nature Study Notes has been performed twice this year as a music improvisation and visual performance event by an ensemble of original Scratch Orchestra members and new performers including: Jane Alden, George Chambers, Linn D, Carole Finer, John Hails, Bryn Harris, Les Hutchins, Petri Huurinainen, Eve Libertine, Robbie Lockwood, Geraldine McEwan, Christian Sancto, Matt Scott, Hugh Shrapnel, Howard Slater, Stefan Szczelkun, Emmanuelle Waeckerle & Ali Warner.

“It is impossible to capture the details of such an experience in words, and of course another performance would be an entirely different experience. But this is the beauty of it.” – Bachtrack

Chisenhale dance space, London Saturday 28th June 2014
Café Oto, London Sunday 22nd Februray 2015

check links below
- café Oto event documented by Deirdre McGale photo
- Chisenhale dance space event documented by Martin Dixon
- The Scratch Orchestra on Carol Finer's ‘Sound out’ radio program on Resonance fm
- Penny Homer’s review “Nature Study Notes up to Scratch at Chisenhale Dance Space”
- Robert Barry article “Starting From Scratch: Cornelius Cardew and the Orchestra as Insurgency"


detail of Nature Study Notes score. 

MOIblog archive